Bipolar Dating Tips

I may be a hag for life, painting the town red with my married/dating friends, always the singleton amongst the couples and never interested in the other singles who sometimes hang out with us, but that does not have to be true for everyone else with bipolar.

My behaviour and decisions are radical and somewhat crazy, because that is just my personality. It is not all based on my ‘condition’. I base my decision to be alone on the fact that I need to protect myself at all costs! I can’t afford to get hurt. So what if I’m like Edith Crawley, unable to find love until the age of 33!? I’m not bitter about it, I am fully aware of my virtues and my vices.. Sometimes we have to forget how we feel and remember what deserve.
Now, I know I make being forever alone seem appealing to those who aren’t even faced with the same struggles as I am. Some of my friends even envy my carefree life, but I have to admit, sometimes it gets lonely and I have to keep myself very busy in order to fill that void.

So here are a few tips for the bipolars (and their love interests) on how to make a relationship work, courtesy of the interwebs! I can’t exactly give any solid advice, apart from “Always be honest”, but my love-life is either non-existent or too explosive.

The following links provide enough information on love and relationships for bipolars.

http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-bipolar-lens/201208/how-do-i-love-thee-when-youre-bipolar

http://www.askabipolar.com/tips-treating-bipolar-person/

http://www.everydayhealth.com/news/secrets-dating-when-you-have-bipolar-disorder/

Best of luck to all of you! May you find the love, joy and happiness you deserve. Everyone deserves to be happy and by making others happy, we can all find inner happiness. I know I do.

One thought on “Bipolar Dating Tips

  1. Thank you for sharing this, I’ve distanced myself from relationships/ finding love because of my condition and in fear of being a burden. Although I’m still young and have loads of time ahead of me the thoughts of the what ifs in the future of what’s supposed to be a ‘happily ever after’ can be quite daunting. But again, thanks for the sharing!

Leave a Reply

